EAST COAST DRIVING SCHOOL

Teenager Driver Education & Training in North Carolina


The State of North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles requires that anyone under the age of 18 who would like to obtain a driver’s license take Driver’s Education. It is a two part course which includes 30 hours of classroom instruction and 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training with a professional driving instructor.

This specialized course can only be offered by DMV licensed driving schools or secondary schools that have a qualified curriculum and certified teachers. In North Carolina, students must be at least 14 years and 6 months old to take Driver’s Education.

Our goal is to provide your teen with the tools necessary to become a safe and responsible driver.

Classroom


Our classroom facilities and curriculum are inspected by the DMV. Classroom instructions includes video, guest speakers, lecture, class discussion, and hands-on experience in basic vehicle care.

The following includes a brief example of subjects that will be taught in our driver’s education class.

1. Laws - registration, pedestrian, traffic, right of way, DUI, etc.
2. What to do at the scene of an accident - first aid, reports, insurance info
3. Vehicle Maintenance - tire pressure, oil checks, the importance of regular maintenance
4. Defensive Driving - vision habits, space management, behavioral training
5. Reading and Understanding Roadway Markings and Signs
6. Safety Techniques around Motorcycles and Tractor Trailers

Obtaining a Limited Learner's Permit


Once a student completes driver's education with us and has reached the age of 15, they may apply for a Limited Learner's Permit at the North Carolina DMV.

They will need the following:
Certified Birth Certificate
Social Security Card
Driver’s Education Certificate
School Eligibility Form (Valid for 30 days only)
Proof of Residency (School Transcript, dated, signed and stamped by a school official)
Parent or Guardian
$15.00

Graduated licensing — Level One — Limited Learner's Permit


• You must be at least 15 years old but less than 18 years old and reside in North Carolina.
• You must pass written, signs, and vision tests.
• All passengers most be restrained by seatbelt or child safety seat.
• No one except the driver and the supervising driver are allowed in the front seat.
• During the first six months, Level One permit authorizes you to drive between the hours of 5 a.m. and 9 p.m. while accompanied by your supervising driver.
• Six months from Level One issuance, you are eligible to drive anytime with your supervising driver.
• You are not permitted to use a mobile telephone or other additional technology associated with a mobile telephone while operating a motor vehicle on a public street or highway or public vehicular area.
(Exception): You can use it to call the following regarding en emergency situation: an emergency response operator; a hospital, physician's office, or health clinic; a public or privately owned ambulance company or service; a fire department; a law enforcement agency, your parent, legal guardian, or spouse.

NOTE: Before graduating to Level Two, you must keep this permit for at least 12 months and have no convictions of moving violations or seat belt/mobile telephone infractions within the preceding six months.

Behind the Wheel Instruction


The State of North Carolina requires that a student under the age of I8 take a minimum of 6 hours of behind the wheel training from a DMV licensed driving school.

Our behind-the-wheel curriculum includes:

• Orientation to the car
• Starting and stopping
• Backing
• Scanning and visual search
• Using the mirrors
• Right and left turns
• Light traffic

• Parking
• Three point turns
• Residential area driving
• Business area driving
• One way streets
• Keeping the car under control
• Defensive Driving